A Very Griswold Vacation

Yes, folks, your favorite family (aka The Griswolds) sans the lil devil child took a trip to the Holy Land!  My parents and I traveled for 3 weeks all over the country together, visiting all the major sights and getting lost one, two, or twelve times along the way.  But what would be a Frazin family vacation without a few bumps in the road?  Or roadblocks due to the massive amount of rain and snow that hit this country since a century!  Jersualem was beautiful and we got trapped, I mean, were fortunate enough to spend 3 WHOLE days together…in a tiny hotel room.  But don’t fret, for there was a marathon of “The X-Factor” to keep us busy, not to mention all of the Jesus shows on National Geographic right in time for X-mas. Nevertheless, we made the best of our time together those winter days and ended our trip on some exciting notes visiting the oasis of Ein Gedi, riding camels, and visiting Masada and the Dead Sea.

DSCF0385
The Old City looked like a snow globe!

Thankfully before the storm we were able to travel up North to some places I’ve never been, including an ancient Muslim fortress named after King Nimrod.  We also went all over Jerusalem, and probably the best part was my mom’s reaction to seeing the Kotel (Western Wall) for the first time, it was priceless!
DSCF0203

The Frazins get spiritual at the Kotel

Of course the parents couldn’t stop snapping pics, reminding me that I indeed live in one of the most amazing places in the world!  Sometimes it is easy to take for granted that I am living in Eretz Israel, after generations of my people so deeply yearning to be here.  But being here with my parents reminded me of how special it is and I was happy to share that with them.  I was hoping they would want to stay with me, but to no avail.  Some people just can’t handle rude Israelis, crazy bus drivers, and bad service, but  I don’t blame them.  There is that part of me that misses my cozy home with all the comforts (my mom’s baking), but I can be cozy when I’m old (no offensive Mom and Dad).  For now, I’ll take my freezing caravan and fly ridden shuk because hey, you only live once (not to quote Lil Wayne), and I want to make the most of it!  Missing my parents already and all of you at home, let me know about your adventures!

With Love,

Rachel
DSCN0551
Peace in the Middle East!
DSCN1023
The family at the Dead Sea! It was freezing but my mom forced me in with her!DSCN1018

One thought on “A Very Griswold Vacation

Leave a Reply

